Explore Old London, Embedded Image Permalink and more!

Explore related topics

Embedded image permalink

Embedded image permalink

Old houses in Drury Lane, c.1876, from the Society for Photographing Relics of Old London archives at the Bishopsgate Institute. S)

Old houses in Drury Lane, c.1876, from the Society for Photographing Relics of Old London archives at the Bishopsgate Institute. S)

Демонтаж здания. Лондон 1940 г. Лондон, демонтаж

Демонтаж здания. Лондон 1940 г. Лондон, демонтаж

The Windmill Theatre on the corner of Great Windmill street and Archer Street, just off Shaftesbury Avenue, was a magnet to many of the new wave ex-servicemen comedians, of which there were many. The theatre was infamous for its risque dancing girls and nude tableaux but it was a tough crowd for comedians who would make up part of the show. Not too many patrons were there for the jokes.

The Windmill Theatre on the corner of Great Windmill street and Archer Street, just off Shaftesbury Avenue, was a magnet to many of the new wave ex-servicemen comedians, of which there were many. The theatre was infamous for its risque dancing girls and nude tableaux but it was a tough crowd for comedians who would make up part of the show. Not too many patrons were there for the jokes.

Old Compton Street

Old Compton Street

The Victoria and Albert Museum, London, under construction. The V is the world's largest museum of decorative arts and design http://LDN.in/7viF1W

The Victoria and Albert Museum, London, under construction. The V is the world's largest museum of decorative arts and design http://LDN.in/7viF1W

“St Giles Circus in 1920.”

Rob Baker on

“St Giles Circus in 1920.”

Tottenham Court Road • Junction with Percy Street • 1972

Tottenham Court Road • Junction with Percy Street • 1972

An exterior view from the River Thames. The public house was originally built in 1520 and known as the Devil's Tavern through its association with thieves and smugglers. Its name was changed to the Prospect of Whitby in 1777.

An exterior view from the River Thames. The public house was originally built in 1520 and known as the Devil's Tavern through its association with thieves and smugglers. Its name was changed to the Prospect of Whitby in 1777.

Pinterest
Search