Explore Barrack Building, Long Barrack and more!

Explore related topics

Alamo Plaza ca. 1940. Notice the ruins of the Long Barrack building without a roof in the left foreground of the picture.

The old post office building when it was new

San Antonio old businesses | The first real post office/federal building was this one, which opened ...

Ca. 1930 - Beautiful photo of the front of the Alamo with the Medical Arts Building (now Emily Morgan Hotel) in the background.

THE ALAMO (1960) - A Roman Catholic priest leads producer/director/star John Wayne (pictured) and crew in prayer before filming begins on the set near Brackettville, Texas - Publicity Still.

Siege of the Alamo, Day Eight - Tuesday, March 1, 1836: Reinforcements arrived at the Alamo from Gonzales providing a morale boost. This monument recognizes their contribution. The Convention convened at Washington-on-the-Brazos to further the discussion on Texas independence.

The Alamo - The Alamo grounds, exclusive of the chapel, fell into private hands beginning in 1879 and remained there until The walls were framed with wood to simulate a fortress.

Erastus "Deaf" Smith Erastus "Deaf" Smith, born an American (1787-1837), is one of the most remembered revolutionary heroes who fought for Texas’s independence. Being one of the first to join the Texas Republican Army in Gonzalez, his contributions as a spy, scout, and soldier would influence the Battle of Concepcion, the renowned Grass Fight, and the Battle of San Jacinto. He would also be the man who General Houston trusted to confirm the fall of the Alamo.

Pinterest • The world’s catalogue of ideas