This clever series by Dav Pilkey is filled with opportunities for readers to laugh and to think.   There are several messages hidden within these stories that readers may not understand on a first read.   The themes in these stories are revealed through the pretend authors, George Beard and Harold Hutchins, (characters from the Captain Underpants series) and students will have to pay attention to the titles pages in each chapter to understand the subtleties.

This clever series by Dav Pilkey is filled with opportunities for readers to laugh and to think. There are several messages hidden within these stories that readers may not understand on a first read. The themes in these stories are revealed through the pretend authors, George Beard and Harold Hutchins, (characters from the Captain Underpants series) and students will have to pay attention to the titles pages in each chapter to understand the subtleties.

Readers who enjoy Henry and Mudge may want to read the Rabbit and Robot series.  Both of these series have endearing characters who encounter everyday problems. Rabbit and Robot is a fun series for students in grades 1 and 2 to talk about with other readers.  In book clubs or partnerships, students can discuss the characters’ feelings and the lessons the characters learn.  The play on words in these texts also gives students opportunities to think about the author’s word choice.

Readers who enjoy Henry and Mudge may want to read the Rabbit and Robot series. Both of these series have endearing characters who encounter everyday problems. Rabbit and Robot is a fun series for students in grades 1 and 2 to talk about with other readers. In book clubs or partnerships, students can discuss the characters’ feelings and the lessons the characters learn. The play on words in these texts also gives students opportunities to think about the author’s word choice.

The play on words in this book and the “chicken humor” are hysterical and perfect to teach students to think about the multiple meanings of text.   We love how the characters charge off to save the world yelling, “Let’s Get Cracking.”

The play on words in this book and the “chicken humor” are hysterical and perfect to teach students to think about the multiple meanings of text. We love how the characters charge off to save the world yelling, “Let’s Get Cracking.”

A young graphic novel chapter book about the escape escapades of class pets at Daisy P. Flugelhorn Elementary School. (Apr 2016)

A young graphic novel chapter book about the escape escapades of class pets at Daisy P. Flugelhorn Elementary School. (Apr 2016)

The Great Pet Escape by Victoria Jamieson. Click on the cover to see if the book is available at Freeport Community Library.

The Great Pet Escape by Victoria Jamieson. Click on the cover to see if the book is available at Freeport Community Library.

It’s Monday! Check Out These Graphic Novels for Readers in Grades K-2 | Assessment in Perspective

It’s Monday! Check Out These Graphic Novels for Readers in Grades K-2 | Assessment in Perspective

The Croc Ate My Homework: A Pearls Before Swine Collection: Stephan Pastis: 0050837313095: Amazon.com: Books

The Croc Ate My Homework: A Pearls Before Swine Collection: Stephan Pastis: 0050837313095: Amazon.com: Books

This is a coming of age story about a boy named D.J. who is trying to figure out what he is good at and where he fits in.   When Hilo, a boy robot from outer space, joins him and his childhood friend Gina returns, the three have some action-packed adventures together. Through their journey they learn to believe in themselves and accept their own unique gifts.   Hilo is funny, poignant and filled with layers of meaning. Hilo Book 2: Saving the Whole Wide World will be published in May 2016.

This is a coming of age story about a boy named D.J. who is trying to figure out what he is good at and where he fits in. When Hilo, a boy robot from outer space, joins him and his childhood friend Gina returns, the three have some action-packed adventures together. Through their journey they learn to believe in themselves and accept their own unique gifts. Hilo is funny, poignant and filled with layers of meaning. Hilo Book 2: Saving the Whole Wide World will be published in May 2016.

Pinterest
Search