Explore Astronomy Pictures, The Day and more!

Explore related topics

NASA’s Astronomy Picture Of The Day – Earth's Major Telescopes Investigate GRB 130427A

NASA’s Astronomy Picture Of The Day – Earth's Major Telescopes Investigate GRB 130427A

Amazing how complex, even in this super simplified picture, the human body is..

Amazing how complex, even in this super simplified picture, the human body is..

If other planets were in the place of the moon.

If planets were in the place of the moon…

Earth and its Water  Over 70% of the Earth’s surface is glazed with glistening ocean. This, of course, is where the phrase ‘The Blue Marble’ originated from. All this water accounts to a total volume equal to 1.3 billion cubic kilometres – but did you know that according the model of the Sun’s proto-planetary disk, Earth actually has a deficit of this familiar and life sustaining substance?  Astronomers studying how the Earth initially formed have been stuck tryin

Earth and its Water Over 70% of the Earth’s surface is glazed with glistening ocean. This, of course, is where the phrase ‘The Blue Marble’ originated from. All this water accounts to a total volume equal to 1.3 billion cubic kilometres – but did you know that according the model of the Sun’s proto-planetary disk, Earth actually has a deficit of this familiar and life sustaining substance? Astronomers studying how the Earth initially formed have been stuck tryin

Here are some unusual, yet real, things that exist in space.

Here are some unusual, yet real, things that exist in space.

Uranus was the first planet discovered by telescope. A huge, beautiful ball of gases and liquids, this planet travels through space spinning on its side.

Uranus was the first planet discovered by telescope. A huge, beautiful ball of gases and liquids, this planet travels through space spinning on its side.

The moon moves from west to east across the Earth's shadow. The horizontal yellow line depicts the ecliptic - Earth's orbital plane projected onto the dome of sky. The greatest eclipse takes place on September 28, at 2:47 Universal Time (or for US time zones:  September 27 at 10:47 p.m. EDT, 9:47 p.m. CDT, 8:47 p.m. MDT or 7:47 p.m. PDT). Click for eclipse computer

The moon moves from west to east across the Earth's shadow. The horizontal yellow line depicts the ecliptic - Earth's orbital plane projected onto the dome of sky. The greatest eclipse takes place on September 28, at 2:47 Universal Time (or for US time zones: September 27 at 10:47 p.m. EDT, 9:47 p.m. CDT, 8:47 p.m. MDT or 7:47 p.m. PDT). Click for eclipse computer

Pinterest
Search