Pinterest • The world’s catalogue of ideas

George Eliot statue - It is never too late to be what you might have been - George Eliot Secular Humanist

from One Kings Lane

Antique Set of George Eliot, 8 Vols

One Kings Lane - La Belle Vie - Antique Set of George Eliot, 8 Vols

from The Daily Beast

Growing up with George Eliot: Rebecca Mead’s “My Life in Middlemarch”

As a teenager Rebecca Mead first encountered George Eliot’s Middlemarch and has returned to it at important moments in her life. In her new meditation cum memoir about the novel, she reveals deep truths about how and why we all read says Lucy Scholes.

from Laney McMann's Blog

It’s Never Too Late…

Mary Anne Evans - 22 November 1819–22 December 1880. English novelist, journalist and translator, and one of the leading writers of the Victorian era. Under her pen name, George Elliot, she is the author of seven novels, including Adam Bede (1859), The Mill on the Floss (1860), Silas Marner (1861), Middlemarch (1871–72), and Daniel Deronda (1876), most of them set in provincial England and known for their realism and psychological insight.