Pinterest • The world’s catalogue of ideas

The Isle of Man is NOT part of the UK. It is a Crown Dependency, which means that it is technically a possession of the crown directly, not of the UK. It is also not a territory of the UK like Bermuda or the Falkland Islands. The British didn’t technically conquer Mann in the same way they did Ireland or other countries in the empire. The Lord of Mann was the titular ruler of the island until 1765 when the feudal rights were purchased by the crown and the title was transferred to George I.

Jersey - Channel Islands by Kevin Fleming ( ), via Flickr


Venn diagram displaying the relationships between the subsidiary nations of the UK and the meaning of the term "British Isles" and how the "Crown dependencies" fit in.


#UK overseas territories could be affected by #EU #tax crackdown | The Guardian

British King George VI Coronation Medal was a commemorative medal made to celebrate the coronation of King George VI and Queen Elizabeth. For Coronation and Jubilee medals, the practice up until 1977 was that United Kingdom authorities decided on a total number to be produced, then allocated a proportion to each of the Commonwealth countries and Crown dependencies and possessions. The award of the medals was then at the discretion of the local government authority, who were free to decide…

Labour has recently committed to lowering the voting age from as early as 2016. But will it work and how is it working in the crown dependencies around the UK? Chris Owen and Will Barnes debate the...

Explaining the Crown, UK, Great Britain, England, Scotland, Ireland, Northern Ireland, Crown Dependencies and British Overseas Territories. See the YouTube video this was captured from for a full explanation

from The Independent

George Osborne is trying to turn post-Brexit Britain into a tax haven

The UK is finally catching up with its Overseas Territories and Crown Dependencies by inching ever closer to becoming a fully-fledged tax haven. And that’s without any of the sunshine to ease the pain.

Green Postbox In Dalkey (P Post And Telegraphs):Wall boxes are a type of post box or letter box found in many countries including France, the United Kingdom, the Commonwealth of Nations, Crown dependencies and Ireland. They differ from pillar boxes in that, instead of being a free-standing structure, they are generally set into a wall (hence the name) or supported on a free-standing pole, girder or other stable structure.


Image copyright Getty Images David Cameron is coming under pressure to stop British overseas territories and Crown dependencies being used by the wealthy to reduce their tax bills. A massive data leak from Panama-based law firm Mossack Fonseca showed it registered more than 100,000 secret firms to the British Virgin Islands. Labour Party leader Jeremy Corbyn said the government needed to “stop pussyfooting around” on tax dodgi